Metuchen High School Hall of Fame

(March 17, 2021) Due to the current public health situation, we have decided to postpone the Hall of Fame reception (Class of 2020) to some time in the Fall of 2021.  Please keep checking back for updated information.  

(Mon Oct, 1 2018) The Metuchen High School Hall of Fame was created to honor alumni, employees, and major contributors who have distinguished themselves by their achievements in scholarship, athletics, career, community service, and/or society as a whole. The honor of being elected to the MHS Hall of Fame will be afforded to those who, through their actions, have contributed to the established vision of the Metuchen School District. The selected Hall of Fame honorees will continue to serve as positive role models providing inspiration, hope, support, and relevance to our community.


Class of 2020

Class Of 2018

Class Of 2016

Metuchen High School Hall of Fame
inductees honored at reception

Metuchen High School honored its inaugural Hall of Fame induction class, consisting of 11 distinguished alumni and former employees, during a reception at The Gran Centurions in Clark on Sunday.

Metuchen High School, which graduated its first class 106 years ago, established the Hall of Fame to honor alumni and employees who have distinguished themselves through their achievements in career, scholarship, athletics and/or community service.

Read an article written by Greg Tufaro on mycentraljersey.com.


The Metuchen High School Hall of Fame was established to honor alumni and employees who have distinguished themselves through their achievements in career, scholarship, athletics and/or community service.

A committee that solicited and reviewed nominations selected the inaugural inductees who, through their actions, have contributed to the Metuchen School District’s established vision. The inductees will continue to serve as positive role models, providing inspiration, hope, support and relevance to their community.

Metuchen High School Hall Of Fame Inaugural Class Inductees

Boyd, Patricia, Dr.Class of 1983Hubble Space Telescope’s Deputy Project Scientist for Operations at NASA’sGoddard Space Flight Center. She earned her PhD in Physics and Atmospheric Science from Drexel University. She has also been a member of the singing group, the Chromatics for 20 + years.
Cowen, Scott, Dr.Class of 196414th President of Tulane University, New Orleans – Led the rebuilding and remodeling programs at Tulane’s Campuses after Hurricane Katrina
Fisher, GailClass of1954First Black Woman to win an Emmy Award and a Golden Globe for her work on a television series
Flaherty , ArthurClass of 1985MHS all time boys basketball scoring leader – Over 2000 pts. Has served the Metuchen Police Dept. for more than two decades and was a member of the Board of Education for 6 ½ years.
Hegyes, RobertClass of 1969Actor best known for playing Juan Epstein in 1970s sitcom, Welcome Back Kotter Played Linebacker for the MHS Football Team. Never forgot where he grew up, returning to Metuchen in 2009.
Jessen, MartinClass of 1944Chairman of Metuchen Savings Bank, Volunteered thousands of hours to the Metuchen Chamber of Commerce, Metuchen Rotary Club, YMCA, Metuchen Reformed Church. Also served in 2 wars and is the author of Marty’s Musings – tales of the Great Depression, WWII , The Korean War and New Jersey
Novak, JohnFormer Faculty 41 years of service for the Metuchen School District as teacher, coach and administrator. He was a 4-time Middlesex County Coach of the Year from 1970 – 1973 and the Bill Denny Administrator of the Year in 1997.National record-setting hurdler in high school and school record-holder in college. As a collegian, he earned six varsity letters at Rutgers which he attended on an Alumni Scholarship for Football and Track and a state scholarship for academics.
Prehodka, JosephClass of 19591959 – Named MHS Athlete of the Year lettering in football, basketball, baseball and track. Named to the Sporting News’ prestigious 1958 High School All-American Team. First offensive end to lead Middlesex County in scoring, 77 points one season. He was named first-team All-State/All-Groups as an offensive and defensive player. ”Coach Joe” is a 75 year resident of Metuchen who served six years in the National Guard.
Schlein, InaFormerFaculty33 years of service to Metuchen School District. Chairman of the English Dept.,Drama Coach and beloved Director of MHS Footlighters for 15 years.
Wernik, DonaldClass of 1943Served Three terms as Mayor and 9 years as County Freeholder, being the force behind many improvements in Metuchen including the Metuchen Pool and the Senior Housing. He was a member of the US Marines, serving in the Pacific Theater for 18 months. He graduated from Rutgers College of Pharmacy. He was given the 1976 Daniel Smith Award and has been a member of the NJ Pharmacists Association for over 60 years.
Yelencsics, AnthonyClass of 1938Former Marine who earned the Purple Heart and was founder of JFK Medical Center. Led a grassroots effort to open JFK Hospital. Lobbied to win 1.1 million to fund the hospital. Mayor of Edison 1958-1969 and 1978-1989